Terms & Conditions

Pioneer Community Energy Terms & Conditions of Service

RATES Pioneer Community Energy manages wholesale electricity purchases with the intention of providing unbundled retail electric generation service at competitive rates. Any changes to Pioneer Community Energy rates will be adopted at duly noticed public meetings of the Pioneer Community Energy Governing Board.  PG&E charges Pioneer Community Energy customers a monthly Power Charge Indifference Adjustment (PCIA) and Franchise Fee Surcharge.  Pioneer Community Energy has already accounted for these additional charges in calculating its rates. View Pioneer Community Energy current rates at www.PioneerCommunityEnergy.ca.gov or call 1(844) 937–7466 for more information. These rates and cost comparisons are subject to change. Financial assistance programs like CARE (California Alternate Rates for Energy), FERA (Family Electric Rate Assistance), and Medical Baseline Allowance remain the same for Pioneer Community Energy customers. If you are enrolled in any of these programs with PG&E, you will continue to be enrolled if you choose Pioneer Community Energy. Subsequent changes to PG&E or Pioneer Community Energy rates impact cost comparisons.

BILLING You will receive a single monthly bill from PG&E. The bill will include charges for PG&E electric delivery and Pioneer Community Energy electric generation. Pioneer Community Energy’s electric generation charge will replace PG&E’s electric generation charge. Pioneer Community Energy charge is not an extra fee. PG&E will continue to charge for transmission, distribution, public goods programs, gas and other non-generation charges at the same rates it charges customers who do not receive Pioneer Community Energy service. PG&E forwards payments for Pioneer generation to Pioneer Community Energy. If you opt out of Pioneer Community Energy, PG&E will resume charging you for electric generation.

ENROLLMENT Pioneer Community Energy, a not–for–profit, public agency, is now the default electric generation provider in your community. California State Assembly Bill 117, passed and signed into law in 2002, requires that community choice energy programs like Pioneer Community Energy operate as the primary electric generation service provider through an automatic enrollment process to ensure equal and fair access. Accounts will be enrolled with Pioneer Community Energy starting with billing periods occurring on or after February 1, 2018. You may request to remain with PG&E at any time. To continue receiving electric generation service from PG&E, call 1(844) 937–7466 or visit www.PioneerCommunityEnergy.ca.gov.  Please have your PG&E account number available so that we may process your request.

To Remain with PG&E Electric Generation Service:  You may request to remain with PG&E electric generation service at any time by calling 1(844) 937–7466 or at www.PioneerCommunityEnergy.ca.gov. Please have your PG&E account information available to process your request. PG&E does not charge a fee to continue receiving electric generation services if you provide notice that you wish to remain with PG&E service before your Pioneer Community Energy service starts or within 60 days after your Pioneer Community Energy service starts. After that time, PG&E charges a one-time administrative fee of $4.24 to return to PG&E service.  Pioneer does not charge a fee for returning to PG&E service. In addition, PG&E requires that Pioneer Community Energy customers use one of the following options for returning to PG&E generation service: Option 1) Return to PG&E generation service at the end of your current billing cycle on PG&E’s transition rate for a six-month period and standard rates thereafter; or Option 2) Return to PG&E generation service, after six months’ notice, on PG&E standard rates. If you return to PG&E electric generation service, you will be subject to PG&E’s terms and conditions of service.

For more information on PG&E’s terms and conditions visit www.pge.com/cca. Accounts will be transferred on the day the electric meter is read and cannot be transferred during the middle of a billing cycle. Requests to remain with PG&E electric generation services received 5 or more days prior to a customer’s meter read date will be processed for that meter read date; all other requests will be processed on the subsequent meter read date. Customers who stop receiving electric generation service from Pioneer Community Energy will be charged for all Pioneer Community Energy electricity used before ending Pioneer Community Energy electric service. Please be advised that if you do return to PG&E, you will not have the option to return to Pioneer Community Energy for a full year. Pioneer Community Energy does not charge for returning to its unbundled electric generation service.

FAILURE TO PAY Pioneer Community Energy may transfer your account to PG&E upon 14 calendar days’ written notice to you if you fail to pay your bill. If your service is transferred, you will be required to pay the PG&E fee noted above.

Pioneer Community Energy is governed by a Board of Directors of elected officials representing Placer County, and the cities of Auburn, Colfax, Lincoln, Rocklin, and the Town of Loomis. Learn more at www.PioneerCommunityEnergy.ca.gov/about.

CUSTOMER PRIVACY POLICY Pioneer Community Energy is committed to protecting customer privacy. View Pioneer Community Energy’s policy on Customer Confidentiality at www.PioneerCommunityEnergy.ca.gov/about or by calling 1(844) 937–7466.

Pioneer Community Energy brought to you by a partnership between Placer County and the cities of: Auburn, Colfax, Lincoln, Rocklin, and the Town of Loomis.

Back to Top